2013 Winter anime Part 5: OVA/OAD I

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2013 Winter anime Part 5: OVA/OAD I

  • Saint☆Onii-san (OAD)
  • Nurarihyon no Mago (OAD)
  • Code:Breaker (OAD)
  • Kindaichi Shounen no Jikenbo: Kuromajutsu Satsujin Jiken-hen (OAD)
  • To LOVE-Ru Darkness (OAD)
  • Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!: Depth of Field – Ai to Nikushimi Gekijyo (BD)
  • Onii-chan Dakedo Ai Sae Areba Kankeinai yo ne Special (BD)
  • Nekomonogatari: Kuro (Film Event)
  • Carnival Phantasm (BD)
  • Ebiten: Kouritsu Ebisugawa Koukou Tenmonbu (OAD)

<< TV I | TV II | TV III | TV IV | OVA I | OVA II | Movie >>

(December 03, 2012)

The OVA adaptation Saint Young Men is created by studio A-1 Pictures, based on Hikaru Nakamura’s comedy manga known in Japan as Saint Oniisan. The OVA is bundled on DVD with the manga’s special edition 8th and 9th volumes. In the story, Buddha, the spiritually awakened, and Jesus, son of God share a low-rent apartment in modern Tokyo, taking a secret vacation to the mortal plane.

(December 04, 2012)


The OVA adaptation of Nurarihyon no Mago is once again created by Studio DEEN, based on a supernatural manga by Hiroshi Shiibashi. The manga’s limited edition 24th and 25th volumes bundled the OVA on DVD. The original story revolves around Rikuo Nura, a kid that is part human and part demon (youkai). He lives in a house full of spirits along with his grandfather, who wants the kid to succeed him as master of the Nurari youkai clan. Rikuo, however, is trying to escape his fate of acting like a demon, so he does good deeds in order to avoid becoming one.

(December 17, 2012, February 15, 2013)


The 3-episode OVA adaptation Code:Breaker follows the 2012 TV anime series created by studio Kinema Citrus, based on a “dark hero” manga by Akimine Kamijyou. The OVA is bundled on DVD with the manga’s limited edition volumes 22, 23 and 24 respectively.

  • Release Date: December 17, 2012, February 15, 2013
  • Studio: Kinema Citrus
  • Note: Bundled w/ LE manga Vol. 22 and Vol. 23
  • Hompage: http://www.code-breaker.jp/

(December 17, 2012)

The 2012 OVA adaptation Kindaichi Case Files (Kindaichi Shounen no Jikenbo) is created by studio Toei Animation, based on a detective manga written by Youzaburou Kanari and illustrated by Fumiya Sato. The OVA’s two episodes are bundled on DVD with the manga’s limited edition 3rd and 4th volumes. The story is an adaptation of the manga’s “Black Magic Murder Case” (“Kuromajutsu Satsujin Jiken”) story arc.

(December 19, 2012)


The OVA adaptation To Love-Ru Darkness is bundled on DVD with the limited edition 5th and 6th volumes of the spin-off / sequel manga of the same title, written by Saki Hasemi and illustrated by Kentaro Yabuki, which also inspired a 2012 TV anime series created by studio Xebec. The OVA shorts will adapt three extra chapters from the manga – “Prologue: Project Shidou” (Prologue: Project Launch), “Pollen Plan: Kiken na Imouto Jouji” (Pollen Plan: Dangerous Sister Affair), and “Body Touch?: Nyan-derful Life” – respectively featuring the characters Momo, Mikan and Haruna.

(December 19, 2012)


The TV anime series Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! is created by studio Kyoto Animation, based on a school romance comedy novel written by Torako and illustrated by Nozomi Ousaka. In the novel, Yuuta Togashi, a boy who used to suffer from “chuu-2 byou” (“middle-school second-grade disease”, as in adolescent delusions) and Rikka Takanashi, who still has the syndrome, made a true contract with each other (that is, they are dating). They are in the middle of enjoying “real life” to the fullest… or should be. However, Satone Shichimiya a.k.a. “Sophia Ring SP Saturn VII”, a friend from middle school and the one suffering the most from “chuu-2 byou”, appears and turns Togashi’s life upside down. And so, a battle between “Saturn” and “Jaou Shingan” (True Eye of the Devil King) begins.

(December 26, 2012)


The TV anime series Onii-chan Dakedo Ai Sae Areba Kankei Nai yo ne (OniAi) is created by studio Silver Link, based on a romantic comedy light novel series by Daisuke Suzuki. The story centers around Akito Himenokouji, a boy who was separated from his twin sister Akiko, but they end up living under the same roof together during high school.

  • Release Date: December 26, 2012
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Note: Bundled w/ BD Vol. 1
  • Hompage: http://oniai.com/

(December 29, 2012)


The TV anime special series Nekomonogatari (Black) is created by studio Shaft, based on NisiOisin’s novel of the same title – which covers the “Tsubasa Family” story. The events are set between Kizumonogatari and Bakemonogatari, with a focus on the character Tsubasa Hanekawa.

(January 16, 2013)


The OVA adaptation Carnival Phantasm is created by studio Lerche, based on the Take Moon manga by Eri Takenashi (Kannagi), featuring characters from Type-Moon’s franchises Fate/Stay Night and Tsukihime.

(January 26, 2013)


The OVA adaptation of Ebiten: Kouritsu Ebi Sugawa Koukou Tenmonbu follows the 2012 TV anime series created by studio AIC Classic, based on a school otaku comedy manga commonly known as Ebiten, written by SCA-ji and illustrated by Kira Inugami. The manga’s 4th volume is bundling the OVA on Blu-ray.

<< TV I | TV II | TV III | TV IV | OVA I | OVA II | Movie >>